Understanding DUI Laws in Florida
If you are a Florida driver and are currently unaware of your rights, privileges, and obligations when it comes to the rules of the road, let a Miami criminal defense attorney from Hager & Schwartz, P.A. help you! At our law firm, we have been practicing criminal law for many years. We have experience as former prosecutors and have a firm understanding on all DUI-related laws. First and foremost, you should be aware that it is not truly illegal to drink and drive. The law clearly states that a person with a blood alcohol concentration at or above .08% or has proven that their abilities are too impaired to drive shall be arrested for DUI. According to 316.193 of the Florida DUI statutes, the penalties of driving under the influence can be up to $500 in fines and up to 6 months of imprisonment for a first offense. The law states that a second offense DUI holds the consequences of up to $1,000 in fines and up to 9 months of imprisonment.
It is very important that you understand your rights after being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Florida, as the next moves you make could have a lasting effect on your future. Immediately after facing an arrest, you should look into hiring an experienced Miami DUI lawyer. Your attorney should then investigate the allegations against you, including the evidence produced by the breath test, blood test, or field sobriety test. If you choose to work with the legal team from Hager & Schwartz, you are choosing a law firm that refuses to leave a single stone unturned in the fight to have criminal charges dropped or reduced. For more information about the DUI charges you are currently facing, contact a Miami DUI attorney from our law firm.