Underage DUI Penalties
In Florida, it is illegal for an individual under 21 years of age to consume alcohol and has a Zero Tolerance policy in regards to underage drunk driving. While the legal BAC level for a driver who is 21 years old or older is .08%, an underage driver will face DUI charges if their BAC is .02% or above. To reduce underage drunk driving in general, violators will face severe penalties.
The following are the penalties for underage drivers in Florida convicted of a DUI:
Underage drivers with a BAC of .02% or higher – first offense
- License suspension for six months
- Fine ranging from $1000 to $2000
- Possible jail time if BAC is .08% or higher
Underage drivers with a BAC of .02% or higher – second offense
- License suspension for one year
- Fine ranging from $1000 to $4000 (depending on BAC)
- Jail time between 10 days and 12 months
In addition to such consequences as license suspension, being convicted of underage drunk driving can have a serious, negative impact on your life and future. A mark on your criminal record can affect your opportunities, such as applying for a job or enrolling in certain colleges and universities.
However, with the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer, there is a chance you can have your criminal record expunged, your charges reduced, or your entire case dismissed entirely. Contact Hager & Schwartz, P.A. and request a free case evaluation today.