WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE?
MIAMI DOMESTIC VIOLENCE DEFENSE LAWYER
According to Florida law, a domestic violence conviction carries a mandatory minimum sentence of five days in jail. The penalties for domestic violence vary, depending on the circumstances of the crime, the defendant's criminal history, and other factors. Common penalties include imprisonment, fines, probation, community service, and mandatory counseling – not to mention the social stigma associated with a domestic violence conviction. For repeat offenders, the court may enhance these penalties.
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE PENALTIES IN FLORIDA
According to Florida law, domestic violence laws apply to family members (such as a child or spouse) and cohabitating persons (such as a roommate or significant other).
Some of the crimes that fall under this category include:
- Assault & Battery
- Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Battery
- Sexual Battery
If domestic violence is charged with another offense, such as sexual assault, the defendant could face severe sentencing. Assault, for example, can be a second degree misdemeanor charge, while some instances of batter may be charged as a third degree felony.
The penalties for these crimes include:
- Misdemeanor: 60 days to one year in jail
- Felony: Up to five years in prison
The sentencing for these offenses can change if the victim had a restraining order or injunction against the defendant. To learn about the possible penalties associated with your case, speak with an attorney from Hager & Schwartz, P.A.
FREE CONSULTATION WITH HAGER & SCHWARTZ, P.A.
If you were arrested for domestic violence, our law firm can protect your rights and help you avoid an unnecessary conviction. With more than 50 years of combined legal experience, we have the skill and experience to defend your rights and protect your future.
Simply call our office today at (305) 330-1360 to schedule your initial consultation with a Miami domestic violence defense attorney from our law firm.