Driving on Suspended License Lawyer Miami, FL
Driving with Suspended License FL
Driving with a suspended license is actually a serious criminal offense in Florida. If you or someone you know was pulled over and cited for driving with a suspended license in Miami-Dade County, or the surrounding areas in Florida, a Miami driving on a suspended license attorney at our firm can help you fight these charges and therefore avoid serious penalties from a conviction. At times, you may not even be aware that your license has been suspended because of a failure to pay traffic tickets or a similar situation. You are then pulled over for a simple traffic violation and find that you are facing criminal charges for driving with a suspended license.
Our Miami driving on a suspended license attorneys are here to help! Call us at (305) 330-1360 today!
Find out Driver's License Status in Florida
To find out for certain what the status of your driver’s license is, visit the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). This is the court that has the ability to suspend your license in Florida. You will likely have to complete a request for personal information and pay a small fee to the County Clerk’s office. If you get your license suspended in Florida, your license is suspended in all other states as well. There is the possibility of hardship licenses for some, which allow for limited driving privileges. You may have been arrested for driving outside of the special provisions listed in your hardship license.
Reasons for a Suspended License in Florida
There are many reasons you could face a suspended license in Florida. The state has laws that protect children who are getting on and off a school bus. If you pass a stopped bus while you are driving, you can lose your license. The state also takes steps to prevent people from racing on public roads. Those caught racing could lose the right to drive for several months or years. Drinking and driving is another way you can lose your license.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in FL
Most often, driving with a suspended license is a misdemeanor offense in Florida. At a minimum, expect to pay at least $200 in fines and have another year added to your suspension. In the worst cases, you could have two years added to your suspension on the first offense.
If you are facing your second charge for driving with a suspended license in Florida, you can face up to $1,000 in fines. Imprisonment for a conviction may last from 6 months to 1 year. However, a third conviction for this offense may actually result in felony charges, where you may face up to 5 years in state prison if convicted.
A Miami driving on suspended license attorney at our firm can help you if you have been accused of driving without a license or driving with a suspended license. We have experience in this area of law and understand what defense strategies are workable in helping you avoid a conviction and therefore serious penalties.
Getting Your Suspended License Back in Florida
If you want to get your license back as soon as possible, you are likely wondering what steps you should take to reach your goal. Waiting for the suspension period to expire is one of the most common ways to get your license back. You can also try getting your restoration requirements letter.
If you were falsely accused and believe you have a case, you can try appealing your conviction to get your license back. In some cases, you will find that you can get permission to drive to work or to pick your children up from school. Explore all your options if you want the best odds of success.
WHY You Need a Miami Driving on a Suspended Lawyer
If you are facing charges related to driving with a suspended license in Florida, you need professional legal guidance. Moving forward without the right lawyer on your side makes it all but impossible to get the outcome for which you have been searching. A legal expert looks at your situation to find mistakes in the prosecutor's case.
Your lawyer also looks at the evidence against you to find ways to prove your innocence. If your lawyer finds mistakes, he will use them to give you the best odds of getting a favorable outcome in court. Your lawyer won't always be able to get your case dismissed, but you still want a legal expert in your corner. Your lawyer can get your charges reduced or reduce the amount of time you can't drive.
Call a Miami Driving on a Suspended License Attorney!
Consulting a Miami driving on a suspended license attorney at Hager & Schwartz, P.A. is a wise choice if you or someone you know has been arrested for driving without a license or driving on a suspended license. We offer a free consultation to discuss your charges and represent clients throughout Miami-Dade County, and the surrounding areas in Florida. Choosing the right lawyer can be difficult, and we recognize this. That is why it is important that you undergo an initial evaluation and discuss your case with one of our Miami driving on a suspended license lawyers.
We can answer your questions and address your particular concerns in order to bring you much-needed peace of mind. Call us at (305) 330-1360 today!
I could not be happier with the outcome as it exceeded my expectations!- Robert
I will be forever grateful.- B. D.
Couldn't have done it without him!- Erika
I strongly recommend John Hager.- Sara
So grateful to have found Brett Schwartz!- Rachel
Case Dismissed Aggravated Battery
Case Dismissed Aggravated Battery
Case and Injunction Dismissed Aggravated Battery and Domestic Violence Injunction
Case Dropped Aggravated Battery and Armed Burglary with Battery
Case Dismissed Armed Robbery with Firearm
Case Dismissed Domestic Battery
Expunged Domestic Battery
Case Dropped Controlled Substance
Case Dismissed Criminal Mischief and Disorderly Intoxication
Case Dismissed and Expunged off Record Disorderly Conduct