Since the 1970s and 1980s, Miami has been known as the cocaine capital of the United States. From documentaries and feature films to television shows and books, the cocaine trade during the development of the city is extensively chronicled.
Although cocaine use is not as widespread in Miami as it was back then, it is still a popular drug in the nightlife and party scene for residents and tourists alike. However, simple possession of cocaine – even if it's only for personal use – carries harsh criminal penalties.
According to Florida criminal law, cocaine is a Schedule II controlled substance, which has a high potential for abuse because of significant physical and psychological dependence, and it is hardly used in the medical field. If you are found in possession of less than 28 grams of cocaine, you can be charged with a third-degree felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to five (5) years, probation for up to five (5) years, and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Based on the state’s Criminal Punishment Code, cocaine possession is given a Level 3 offense severity ranking, which means the judge may sentence you – upon conviction – to either probation or the maximum prison term for the offense. For most first-time offenders, the court will sentence them to probation, a substance abuse evaluation/treatment, random drug tests, and community service hours.
Furthermore, drug charges in Florida are often associated with driver’s license suspension. So, any person convicted of cocaine possession is subject to driver’s license suspension by the DHSMV for up to six months.
Whether you are a resident or a visitor, if you have been arrested for drug possession in Miami, contact Hager & Schwartz, P.A. today at (305) 330-1360 to get more than 40 years of combined experience on your side. We are available days, nights, and weekends!