Attorney John Hager Named to List of Top Lawyers by South Florida Legal Guide
December 23, 2013
Miami Police Force Cracks Down on “Pop Up Clubs”
December 15, 2014

What Penalties Could I Receive for a DUI?

By Hager & Schwartz, P.A.

August 20, 2014

After the initial shock of getting arrested for a DUI wears off, you will likely begin to wonder about possible penalties you may be charged with. These penalties can be very serious and may affect your future and your driving record.

If convicted, the court will assess your situation before assigning various penalties. Your blood alcohol content (BAC), age, and whether or not others were involved can all be determining factors in what you are charged with.

DUI Penalties in Florida

If you are driving with BAC at or above .08, you can be arrested for a DUI.

A first offense typically incurs the lightest charges and can include the following:

  • 6 to 9 months in jail
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $2,000
  • License suspension up to 1 year
  • Mandatory interlock ignition device

An interlock ignition device (IID) is installed inside your car and is usually attached to the vehicle dashboard. This device requires the driver to breathe into it before they can turn on the car. If their BAC is over the preprogrammed limit, the car will not start. The court will decide how long you are required to use an IID.

Second and third DUI convictions can include up to one year in jail, $5,000 in fines, and a suspended license for up to 10 years. Florida’s "lookback period" is 5 years for a second offense and 10 years for a third offense, which is the period of time that your previous convictions will count against you.

It can be difficult to fight DUI charges on your own, especially if you have never been arrested for a crime before. At Hager & Schwartz, P.A., we can fight for your innocence and work to reduce or even dismiss your charges. Contact a Miami DUI attorney from our firm right away if you are in need of legal assistance.